Science http://kajx.org en Paleontologists Still Unveiling Snowmass Ice Age Fossils http://kajx.org/post/paleontologists-still-unveiling-snowmass-ice-age-fossils <p class="p1">&nbsp; &nbsp;Scientists are still examining some of the mammoth bones found at a big dig in Snowmass. &nbsp;The discovery took place more than three years ago-- but the painstaking review of the ice age fossils means that it could take years to thoroughly examine everything that was found. The Ice Age Discovery Center recently unveiled a mammoth tusk that’s been wrapped up in a protective jacket.</p><p class="p1"> Tue, 18 Feb 2014 03:40:13 +0000 Elise Thatcher 14424 at http://kajx.org Paleontologists Still Unveiling Snowmass Ice Age Fossils CrossCurrents - Dr. Robert Eckel on Heart Health http://kajx.org/post/crosscurrents-dr-robert-eckel-heart-health <p>Dr. Robert Eckel served on the panel which issued new guidelines on heart health and spoke at The Aspen Meadows last weekend. The evening was moderated by Dr. Ann Mass.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Wed, 29 Jan 2014 22:29:00 +0000 Carolyne Heldman 13536 at http://kajx.org CrossCurrents - Dr. Robert Eckel on Heart Health APR Special: Heart Health Live http://kajx.org/post/apr-special-heart-health-live <p>Recorded live at the Red Brick Center for the Arts in Aspen, Colorado on Tuesday January 28th, 2014.</p><p>Two new guidelines from the American Heart Association and the American College of Cardiology, on cardiovascular risk assessment and cholesterol management, have caused considerable controversy. Dr. Robert Eckel, who chaired the guidelines section on lifestyle management lead the panel.</p><p>Hosted by Dr. Ann Mass featuring Aspen area cardiologists Dr. Gordon Gerson and Dr. Marcus Howell &amp; Dr. Robert Eckel.</p><p></p><p> Tue, 28 Jan 2014 20:33:18 +0000 Carolyne Heldman 13489 at http://kajx.org APR Special: Heart Health Live Apple Co-Founder's Old Mouse Dug Up in Aspen http://kajx.org/post/apple-co-founders-old-mouse-dug-aspen <p>A crew from the National Geographic Channel show <a href="http://channel.nationalgeographic.com/channel/diggers/">“Diggers”</a> says they have unearthed a time capsule in Aspen containing a piece of tech history – a mouse to Apple’s LISA computer placed by Steve Jobs.</p><p>The time capsule was buried on the grounds of the Aspen Institute as part of the 1983 International Design Conference according to a release from the National Geographic Channel. &nbsp;<br><br><iframe allowfullscreen="" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/2rqwi63Q1Gs" frameborder="0" height="315" width="420"></iframe></p> Fri, 20 Sep 2013 19:01:34 +0000 Rob St. Mary 7788 at http://kajx.org Apple Co-Founder's Old Mouse Dug Up in Aspen Climate Change and Conflict and the Media http://kajx.org/post/climate-change-and-conflict-and-media <p></p><p></p><p>ROGER ADAMS, HOST: Global temperatures on are the rise, and scientists predict that that will make for more extreme weather events—things like higher temperature spikes, drought, and more intense storms. And a team of researchers has made headlines by quantifying how much increased violence comes from extreme shifts in climate.</p><p>Aspen Public Radio’s science reporter Ellis Robinson, joins us on Valley Roundup. Hey Ellis.</p><p></p><p>ELLIS ROBINSON, REPORTER: Hey Roger.</p> Fri, 09 Aug 2013 22:25:01 +0000 Ellis Robinson 5815 at http://kajx.org Climate Change and Conflict and the Media