Scott Horsley http://kajx.org en Obama's Tax Rate Rose — And He Can't Blame Anyone But Himself http://kajx.org/post/obamas-tax-rate-rose-and-he-cant-blame-anyone-himself President Obama, like many wealthy Americans, is paying more of his income to the IRS.<p>The White House <a href="http://www.whitehouse.gov/blog/2014/04/11/president-obama-and-vice-president-biden-s-2013-tax-returns">released the president's tax return</a> last week. It shows he and the first lady paid $98,169 in taxes for 2013 on income of $481,098. That's an effective tax rate of 20.4 percent.<p>In 2012, the Obamas paid just 18.4 percent of their income in taxes. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 19:35:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 17059 at http://kajx.org Obama's Tax Rate Rose — And He Can't Blame Anyone But Himself As Sebelius Steps Down, Obama Taps Budget Director To Replace Her http://kajx.org/post/sebelius-steps-down-obama-taps-budget-director-replace-her Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Melissa Block.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish. Health and Human Services Secretary Kathleen Sebelius got a fond farewell today from President Obama. She's resigning after a rocky tenure marred by the botched rollout of the government's health insurance exchange last fall. The president's tapping his budget director, Sylvia Mathews Burwell, to replace Sebelius. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 20:06:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 16902 at http://kajx.org Health Secretary Kathleen Sebelius To Step Down http://kajx.org/post/health-secretary-kathleen-sebelius-step-down The move comes about 6 months after the disastrous roll out of the health insurance website. It was eventually fixed, but not before delivering a severe blow to the president's approval ratings. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 09:12:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 16866 at http://kajx.org Sebelius, Leader Of Rocky Health Care Rollout, Resigns From HHS http://kajx.org/post/sebelius-leader-rocky-health-care-rollout-resigns-hhs Kathleen Sebelius has resigned from her position as secretary of health and human services. President Obama accepted her resignation, and he plans to nominate Sylvia Matthews Burwell to replace her. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 23:09:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 16857 at http://kajx.org White House Learns Complications Of Pay Equity Debate http://kajx.org/post/white-house-learns-complications-pay-equity-debate Money and politics don't always make for polite conversation, but President Obama tried to tackle both at the White House on Tuesday.<p>Obama signed a pair of executive orders aimed at encouraging conversation about men's and women's pay scales. It's a talk that Democrats hope will yield political gains this year.<p>It also raised questions, though, about how the administration pays its own people.<p>Standing before a crowd of women in the White House East Room, President Obama noted that the average woman working full time in America makes just 77 cents for every dollar earned by a man. Tue, 08 Apr 2014 22:02:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 16734 at http://kajx.org White House Learns Complications Of Pay Equity Debate